Links

Share links

Share links give you greater control over who can view your GitBook documentation.
This feature is available on our Pro and Enterprise plans.
Share your private content with customers and partners without inviting them to your organization by using a secret shareable link or links!
A GitBook space published via share link
To publish via share link(s), open the space or collection you want to share in GitBook. Open the visibility menu and select share link.
Next, click on link and domain settings to access your share links. From this area you can copy, re-generate, or revoke a share link.
Link and domain settings for a GitBook space published via share link
Once the link is active, a private token is generated within your URL, which is unique to your space. Sharing this link will give non-GitBook users access to your private content in read mode only.
Share links can be revoked and regenerated at any time.

Permissions

The content will be accessible to anyone following the link. Your team members will always be able to access your content from their dashboard.
Make sure you share the link only with people you want to share your private content. Don't forget that you can revoke a link at any time.
The shareable link can be disabled or regenerated by revoking a link. You can see and revoke any previously generated link by opening the visibility menu and clicking through to link and domain settings.
Heads up! Anyone using a revoked link will no longer have access to your content.

Security

Privacy of my content is not critical

If you don't have strong privacy and security requirements, a better solution may be to publish the space as unlisted. Unlisted spaces are not indexed by search engines, and therefore will not be easily discoverable.

I need a more secure alternative

The most secure way to share your content with a private audience is to have them create a GitBook account and join your organization.
This process can be automated using SSO/SAML, which can be used to create custom authentication for your documentation. However, this will require more setup on your end, and is a feature of our Enterprise plan only.
If you need complete control over access to your public content, you might like to use our visitor authentication feature. Again, this is a feature of our Enterprise plan only.