Last April GitBook V2 was released as a public beta. Thanks to all your feedback we've been shipping features and improvements every week since!
As part of the beta all features were made available to users for free, essentially a free-trial for all beta-users.
You're seeing this banner because you are on a free plan and you have:
more than 2 users or
more than 2 projects (1 private & 1 public)
If you exceed your plan's limits, you may need to upgrade to add more users or update content. Your content will still be available (read-only) in the meantime.
We always keep your data safe unless you explicitly ask us to delete it.
The free plan was essentially a free-trial, it allowed you to test GitBook with a limit of 2 spaces and 2 collaborators.
The Startup & Business plans have no such limits, you can have as many users or projects as you want. They also come with extra features such as SSO, custom branding, fast search powered by Algolia, secret links, ...
All paid org accounts from GitBook legacy (v1) keep their old plan unless explicitly changed by one of the org admins.
No, valid non-profits and (non-commercial) open-source teams will always have access to GitBook for free, it's our way of giving back to the community.
If you've already asked for a discount and see the upgrade banner, don't worry about it, we will apply this discount gradually to all the appropriate orgs.
GitBook tries to offer the fairest billing policy by adapting the billing to your usage. In short:
You’ll only be charged for members in your organization on the day that you upgrade to a paid plan.
Any changes to the number of members will be reflected in your monthly statement, either as extra prorated charges or payback.
The day you upgrade to a paid plan defines the start of your billing period. From here, there's only three different times you will see charges from GitBook:
On the day you upgraded to a paid plan.
On the monthly renewal date of your billing period.
Anytime your balance exceeds a certain amount for annual plans from adding new members:
$300 for Startup yearly plan
$1000 for Business yearly plan
The day you upgrade to a paid plan, you will be charged the price of your plan for the month to come on that day.
For example, if you upgrade to the Startup plan on October 11th, with 6 users, you will be charged on that day by $42 (6 times $7) for the month to come.
Any changes to your usage during the billing period will be reflected on your statement at the end of the billing period, at the same time that you will be charged for the next billing period.
Continuing on the previous example, if you add a member on 10 days into the billing period, a prorated charge of $4.66 for this user will be applied at the start of the next billing period, on November 11th. If you had removed a member instead, you would have received a payback of $4.66.
The prorated subscription cost is calculated by dividing the cost per member ($7) by the number of days in the month (30) and multiplying it by the number of days remaining (20), which gives us the prorated subscription cost for the remainder of that billing period: $4.66