Conflict resolution

When collaborating in an asynchronous way, it may happen that 2 members edit the same section of content, leading to a conflict.‌

​💥Conflict resolution

When trying to merge a draft, GitBook will automatically detect the changes that conflict with the changes of an other writer, you will be asked to resolve those conflicts.

Modal showing conflicts

Note: You will not be able to save or merge your content until all conflicts are solved.‌

You will be able to see the paragraphs that created conflicts, showing both content versions created. You can then pick the version you'd like to keep in order to resolve the conflicts. Once all conflicts have been resolved you will be able to save and merge your content.

Example of a conflict resolution

Tips: See how the button on the left disappears when conflicts are resolved!