Space publishing

Publishing your space

Spaces are set as private as default. To publish a space navigate to the the share button in the right hand corner, where you will be given a range of visibility options.

Public space

A public space is a book with your content which is available to anyone on the internet. It will be indexed by search engines so that everyone can read it.
You still have control over who can edit your content, and you'll only ever be publishing your primary content branch, so all your change requests are still private!

Unlisted space

Unlisted spaces are publicly available, but they won't be indexed by search engines such as Google. They will still be accessible to anyone who has links to your documentation. It lets you easily share your content without it being searchable.
Good to know: Unlisted spaces might not seem super useful at first glance, but they're great if you want to publish a beta of your docs, or do large-scale user-testing, without impacting your SEO with potentially duplicate content etc.
Publish to a unique link. It will be accessible only by people who have access to the link. This link can be revoked and regenerated at any time. While your team members can be invited to a private space via an invite link which will add them to your org with the role you specify, a shareable link is a secret link allowing non-team GitBook users (your customers or partners) to access your private content in read mode only.
Learn more about shareable link 🔗 :

Visitor authentication

Authenticate visitors accessing your space with your custom backend. If your docs should be accessible to certain users only, and you have a mechanism to authenticate those users with your login system, you can use GitBook's visitor Authentication feature to make sure only the right people see your docs.
Learn more about visitor authentication:

Unpublished space

A private space is a project that only you and the team members you invited to collaborate can access. That means it can only be read and edited by members of your organization. This is a more secure way to keep your content private to a specific group of people.
Good to know: Unpublished spaces are only accessible in the GitBook app, by a logged-in, authorized user. Visiting an unpublished space will require you to be logged in and have the relevant permissions to access it.

Changing your space visibility

If you would like to change the visibility of your space simply navigate to the publish button and select the right visibility settings for your space.
After publishing content, hit the 'Link settings' button to access your share links (if you've published as 'Share link only') and your custom domain settings.
Here, you can generate or revoke any share links, or link a custom domain to your published content.
Last modified 11d ago