Helping your GitBook documentation to reach people in multiple languages.
GitBook supports the internationalization of a space or a collection, enabling public documentation user interface elements to be translated.
Administrators and creators can change the language of the user interface for public documentation.

Choosing a language for your content

Currently, the supported languages are: English, French, Spanish, Chinese (simplified), and Japanese.
By default your content will have the English language selected. To change this, click customize in the space sub-navigation, go to the configure tab, and use the dropdown menu in the localize user interface setting.
A screenshot of the customize panel. The configure tab has been selected, and the dropdown for the localize user interface setting has been expanded. It shows 5 language options: English, French, Spanish, Chinese (simplified), and Japanese.
Choose your preferred language for the user interface elements of your published documentation

Inheriting language settings

If a space is inside a collection, you can set the localization language for that space to inherit. This will keep the space's localization language in sync with the setting at the collection level. Choosing a different language for one space inside a collection would override the collection-level setting.

Publishing your content in different languages

If you need to publish your documentation in multiple languages, you can use variants. Publishing a collection as a variant enables you create a space per-language and publish the collection as unified UI, allowing readers to switch seamlessly between different language spaces.
A screenshot showing a GitBook space where the user interface has been customized to use the Japanese language.
An example of a translated documentation in Japanese